Advertisement HOW Design Live Event Registration

Presented by Inwork, The Dieline has announced the winners of this year’s Package Design Awards. All entries were made between Dec 1st, 2010 and Dec 31st, 2011. Last week on June 22nd, Inwork presented The Dieline Package Design Awards during the HOW Design Live. HOW Design Live was a conference made up of four parts, with Dieline being one of these.

The conference provided delegates with the opportunity to network with creative and dynamic industry insiders and a chance to gain expert knowledge and advice. Attendees were given access to sessions such as the HOW Design Live Networking Kickoff, Opening Keynote, Opening Reception, Closing Reception and Closing Keynote.

The Dieline Package Design Awards is a competition with entrants from across the world with an integral focus upon the importance of brand packaging. 38 winners within 12 categories are celebrated across genres such as Best of Show. Beginning in 2009, these awards have become a global phenomenon with over 800 global entries in its first year. Judged by a panel of 10 industry leaders, the winners have been chosen based on their Creativity, Marketability and Innovation.

President Emeritus of AIGA and President of Design at Sterling Brands, Debbie Millman was the chairman of the judges and The Dieline’s Editor-in-Chief Andrew Gibbs presented an Editor’s Choice award. The winners include… for Editor’s Choice, Spirit No 13 by Stranger and Stranger; Best In Show, Alternative Organic Wine by The Creative Method; Student (first place), Re-Envisioning Auto Zone by Vinh Pho.


For the food and drink categories… Food A (first place), Plum Organics – Just Fruits by Nest Collective; Food B (first place), Five Olive Oil by Designers United; Food C (first place), Hatziyannakis Dragees by Mousegraphics; Non Alcoholic Beverage (first place), Tea Bar Packaging by PROUDdesign; Spirits (first place), Smirnoff Caipiroska by JWT; Beer (first place), Miller Boombox by Manajans/JWT Istanbul; Wine & Champagne (first place), Bold & Brave Port by Boldincreative Pty Ltd.

Rounding up the other sections… Bath, Beauty & Health (first place), GLO Brilliant Packaging by Melissa Scott; Home, Garden & Pets (first place), Nu Bone by Jacky Kaho Ling and David Dong-Hee Suh; Books, Office & Art, (first place), Origami Paper Pack by Nooka; Electronics, Technology, Movies, CDs (first place), Watch the Throne: Jay Z/Kanye West by Island Def Jam Music Group.

All winners received; a specially designed trophy by Established, admission to The Dieline Package Design Awards, an in-depth feature on and are covered in great detail in The Winner’s Gallery at The Dieline Package Design Conference. The winner in the student category additionally is granted a set of comps featuring their winning design provided by Inwork, allowing them to seriously professionalize their portfolio. Both the Best of Show Winner and Editor’s Choice Winner receive tickets for HOW Design Live and will have their pieces on display at the DESIGNPACK Gallery in Paris.

The Dieline Package Design Conference took place this June in Boston Massachusetts and is part of HOW Design Live.

To understand and explore some of the amazing work that these winners displayed take a look HERE.